Why I Changed My Name

IMG_0097-2

I changed my name. My blog name, that is. What did you think I was talking about? Let me give you a little update on my life over the last two years. Other than my marathon post last month I haven’t blogged since November of 2013. You may have been wondering why I stopped and why all the sudden I am starting again. As many of you know, I started my blog as a way of sharing with family and friends what I was learning about our food industry in the United States and why I had begun to eat organic as much as possible. My first post was in March 2013. In June of that year we moved from South Carolina to Delaware because my husband was hired as a youth pastor.

This brought many changes in our lives. Since I didn’t initially look for a job, I should have had more time to blog, but I spent most of my days being a full-time painter and interior designer in my own home. As first time homeowners, we were always working on our latest big “fixer-upper” project. We still have a few of those, but most of them get smaller as we go. There were many firsts for me to work through, from trying to figure out this ministry wife thing, to trying to drive on ice and snow, to trying to not get run over by crazy fast northern drivers, and just learning how to survive in the freezing temperatures that this Carolina girl had never experienced. My blog just wasn’t a priority anymore.

I was also running a lot more. I actually starting training for races for the first time since high school cross country meets. In January 2014, I started working at a fitness center. It was awesome to have access to treadmills when the roads were icy. With a new job, which I love by the way, there was even less time for blogging.

But I missed writing. I didn’t really realize how much I missed it until after I ran my first marathon. All I could think about was how I needed to record every thought that I could remember from it because I never wanted to forget such an incredible experience. I wrote down my thoughts with the intention of keeping them to refer to before my next marathon. I knew it was highly likely I would forget everything wonderful about it and have the thought every runner has during training, at least a few times: “Why am I doing this to myself…again!?”

But after writing it, I couldn’t keep it to myself. I knew there were too many people out there that could benefit from reading it. I wanted to inspire people. Whether that was to take that first step or to keep pushing through a training plan or to not give up through injury,  I wanted runners everywhere to know that if I could do it, they could too.

But then I didn’t know where to post it. My blog was Coffee and Turquoise: all things natural and organic. A post about running didn’t fit. Or did it? The original idea for my blog was to write about what we put in our stomachs and on our skin, but didn’t taking care of our bodies with the food we eat and the lotions and make-up we choose to wear include taking care of them with our fitness as well? That sparked an idea of expanding my blog, to make it a place where I could write about all the areas that I was learning and growing.

So, as my readers, I hope you don’t mind if I broaden the topics that you will find here at the new runningtoturquoisecafe.com. I chose this name for several reasons. Firstly, coffeeandturquoise.com was already taken by a lovely artist who just so happens to have a brilliant name for her website. Secondly, I wanted to put running in the title. Thirdly, with Turquoise Cafe in the name, I wanted to give it the feel of a lovely little escape away from daily life. A place where you can read and find encouragement, education, and hopefully laugh a little, too.

The picture in my mind is of an exhausted runner finishing his run and stumbling upon a cute little cafe with turquoise-framed windows and a turquoise door. I can see him running through cold rain, and as he opens the door and hears the little gold bell above his head ring, he is greeted with friendly smiles and the delicious aromas of espresso and warm muffins. That is what I want this to be for you. I hope that no matter what kind of day you are having, I can brighten it just a little bit by using my love of writing to lighten your burden. So grab your coffee and pull up a chair. I hope you enjoy your experience at Turquoise Cafe.

4 thoughts on “Why I Changed My Name

  1. Thank you for your kind words! I love your post and adore the cafe image… ‘Turquoise framed windows…’
    You write with a lovely voice, enjoy running your thoughts on the page and I hope your readers are comforted by your beautiful words.
    Much love x

Leave a Reply

