Paleo Chocolate Avocado Smoothie Recipe

Image

 

I love avocados. It’s not unusual for me to buy 4 or 5 every time I do my weekly grocery shopping. But last week I had a few in the fridge and I did not want to eat them! I guess I burned myself out on them. I kept trying to muster up enough of an appetite for one before they went bad, but they just weren’t appealing to me. So after putting a few in my hair for No-Poo deep conditioning treatments, 😉 I started looking at Paleo recipes where I could use them up but maybe not have a strong avocado taste. I found a recipe for Paleo chocolate avocado mousse and it was disgusting…basically if you sprinkled unsweetened cocoa powder on a plain avocado and ate it, that’s what it tasted like. Yuck! 

Image

Next I tried this one, and it was soooo good! I didn’t have all the ingredients for it, so I ended up doing my own thing. Here’s what I came up with:

  • 8 oz. almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbsp almond butter (I technically used organic PB, which isn’t Paleo but I’m waiting for almond butter to go on sale…it’s double the price of organic PB! Not cool.) 
  • a small handful of dark chocolate cocoa nibs

Blend all of your ingredients in a blender until smooth and you get…

Image

 

…this amazingness! I promise you can’t taste the avocado at all! It’s so rich and creamy and filling that I had half for breakfast, couldn’t finish it, and had the other half for lunch. (And now of course I’m craving one and don’t have any more avocados.) 🙂

Enjoy!

 

I got the idea for this recipe at againstallgrain.com.

Leave a Reply

