Homemade Dry Shampoo for ‘No Poo’ Hair

Before I started ‘no poo’, I was actually washing with my shampoo bar every other day and using homemade dry shampoo on my non-wash days. The first time I tried it, I was so surprised that it actually worked for me, because I was one of those girls who, if I washed, say on Sunday night, by Monday night my hair already looked really oily. Now that I’ve started ‘no poo’, I’m still getting a lot of use out of it. 

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • For all you lovely ladies with dark hair, you can add unsweetened cocoa (amount will vary depending on how dark your hair is).

I store mine in a glass jar.

To use it, just rub a little amount in your hands and run your fingers through your hair/massage it in starting from your roots and working your way out. Flip your hair and do the same to the underside of your hair. Repeat in places that you get oily. But don’t forget to use a tiny amount! A little goes a long way! Leave it alone while you do your make-up or something else for a few minutes, then comb it through to get rid of the powdery look.

It totally soaks up the oil! I’ve had a few days where I put it in, still see oiliness, say, “Whatever, I’m just gonna look like a grease ball today, I guess.” but then…when I get to wherever I’m headed, I look in the mirror and it looks great! 🙂 (Usually, I can tell that it’s worked before I leave the house, so don’t worry.)

I use my dry shampoo on days when it’s not a baking soda and vinegar wash day but I could use a little “touch-up”. 

Image

 

I took this picture on day 7. Please ignore how tired I look and check out my hair. 🙂 I had only let my hair air dry the whole first week. No styling whatsoever, but look at how much volume! I never had this much volume before starting the ‘no poo’ method, no matter how hard I tried! 

Leave a Reply

