Deep Conditioners for ‘No Poo’ Hair

Image

 

On the ‘No Poo’ method, you have to keep your hair moisturized. I’ve been trying to do a deep conditioning treatment once a week. I wanted to share a few that I’ve tried. I got them all from Almost Exactly Blog. (almostexactly.wordpress.com) Deep conditioning is a necessity for ‘no poo’ because the baking soda would be too drying on your hair if you didn’t moisturize regularly. These are to be done alone, no washing with anything after. 

1. Yogurt and Egg Yolk 

  • 1/2 cup organic PLAIN yogurt
  • 1 Egg Yolk 

Mix together in a bowl until combined. Put all over your hair-roots to tips (with your fingers…it’s messy!). Leave on for 15-20 minutes. Rinse out in the shower. 

2. Yogurt and Honey 

  • 1/2 cup organic PLAIN yogurt 
  • 2 Tablespoons RAW honey 

Combine in a blender. Put all over hair-roots to tips. Leave on 15-20 minutes and rinse out in the shower. 

3. Avocado and Egg Yolk 

  • 1/2 Avocado (DON’T use a whole avocado! I did that the first time and it was so thick it left my hair super greasy!) 
  • 1 Egg Yolk

Combine in a blender. Put all over hair and leave on for 15-20 minutes. Rinse out in the shower.

4. Avocado, Banana, Honey and Apple Cider Vinegar

  • 1/2 Avocado 
  • 1/2 Banana
  • 2 Tablespoons Raw Honey
  • 1 tsp. Apple Cider Vinegar 
  • I also added 2 TBSP water to mine. 

Blend together in a blender until smooth (til there are no chunks). Put all over hair and leave on for 15 to 20 minutes. Rinse out in the shower. 

I use my fingers to put the mixtures in my hair. And I stand over the sink for the 15-20 minutes so that if it drips it doesn’t get all over my floor. (Gives me an excuse to play on my phone for a little while!) I usually have a mess in the sink to wash out once I’ve finished applying it to my hair. 

Confession tIme! Deep conditioning day has been when I’m most tempted to give up ‘no poo’. I haven’t found one yet that I absolutely love. It feels awesome when I get it into my hair, and I can tell it’s really moisturizing, but this has always been my greasiest day. I’m still trying to get a good routine down. I was deep conditioning on Wednesdays, but then by church it looked very greasy. 😦 This week I deep conditioned as soon as I woke up this morning (Saturday). Based on what your week is like, you’ll have to figure out the best day to deep condition for you. (Hat day!) I’m still experimenting and trying new mixtures every week, so if I find one that I fall in love with (not leaving my hair greasy-looking) I’ll definitely let you know! I think the one I like the best out of what I’ve tried so far has been the egg yolk and yogurt. My hair has looked the least oily with that one, but the egg doesn’t smell pleasant, just for a heads up. 

After reading that last paragraph, you may be thinking, “Why is she doing this, then? And do I really want to try it?” Despite my greasy deep conditioning days, I’m lovin’ the way my hair looks on the rest of the week, so I’m finding it’s worth it. And it could be that I’m still so new to this that I’m not completely out of transitioning yet. And hey, if nothing else, it gives me an excuse to wear a cute hat once a week, right? 

Image

 

 

2 thoughts on “Deep Conditioners for ‘No Poo’ Hair

  1. I think I will try some of those you suggested! I’ve been trying several different kinds over the past several months and can’t seem to find the “perfect” one for my hair type. It’s so frustrating 🙂 However, I did try a new one two weeks ago. I can’t say that I LOVE it, but I did like it…and my hair didn’t feel greasy by the end of the day. It is 1/2 cup of raw honey with about 2 Tbls. of olive oil. I know it sounds greasy, but I actually found it to be least greasy of those I’ve tried. Anyway…just another idea to add to your list 😉

    1. Thanks! I may have to try that! 🙂 Yeah, I think I’m finding that anything with egg works better for me…I just need to find something to add to egg that doesn’t leave it as oily.

Leave a Reply

