Paleo Bison Meatballs

Image

 

I did something last week I’ve never done. I bought bison meat from the grocery store. Since we are trying to eat Paleo as much as we can, I’m trying to explore/experiment with different meats. Bison meat was on sale so I grabbed some and went home to research recipes. We had bison meatballs yesterday for lunch, and it was the first time I’d ever eaten bison. Growing up I always felt weird about it, since Buffaloe is my maiden name. (One of those irrational things you come up with in your head as a child.) Anyway, bison meat is some good stuff! If you haven’t tried it, you should. Here’s a recipe to get you started. 

Image

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 pound ground bison (all-natural, grass fed, hormone and antibiotic free)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 egg (all-natural, hormone and antibiotic free)
  • 2-3 Tbsp softened or melted organic butter (if not organic, make sure it’s hormone free) 

Image

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix spices together. In a large bowl, add combined spices, egg and melted butter to your ground meat.
  3. Mix all ingredients with your hands like you’re playing with play dough. It’s messy, but it’s the easiest way to do it. 
  4. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, scoop out meat and level off so that your meatballs will all be the same size. Form into balls and place evenly apart on a baking sheet. If you have any leftover meat in your bowl, you can add small amounts evenly to your already formed meatballs. 
  5. Cook for 15 minutes. 
  6. Once your meatballs come out of the oven, there will be grease and fat around them. (Gross, I know.) Cut that away and place your meatballs in a separate bowl or on a platter. 

Image

These meatballs were so good! Such a great flavor and really easy and quick to put together. We got eight meatballs from this amount of meat. I know eight may not sound like a lot, but they are pretty big and very filling, so it was a perfect amount for the two of us. (We had leftovers!) You could always double the recipe if you are serving more people. I served this over spaghetti squash, which is also a new thing for me since starting our transition to Paleo. I made it for the first time last week. Once I perfect my spaghetti squash making skills, I’ll have to blog about that, but not quite there yet. It’s good though, and really easy, too!   

 

 

I adapted this recipe from http://divinehealthfromtheinsideout.com/2012/02/lamb-meatballs/. 

 

2 thoughts on “Paleo Bison Meatballs

Leave a Reply

