Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread

Image

I am fully aware that lately I’ve been posting way too many sweet treats. To be honest, Josh and I are thinking about going Paleo, so I’m trying to use up the ingredients in the house that don’t fit the bill. We are transitioning into it. I’m using up what we’ve already got at home, and on my grocery trips I’m trying to buy only things we can eat on Paleo. With that said, this recipe is far from being Paleo. I don’t think one ingredient is allowed on the Paleo diet. Don’t worry…I’ve found lots of delicious looking Paleo recipes that I’m excited to try! And it will probably be a long transition, because we have lots of grains and sugar to use up first. 😉

Anyway, for the last few days I’ve had this Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread on my mind, and I’ve been dying to try it out! I woke up this morning determined to make this bread before I did anything else.

Image

Here’s what I used:

  • 1/4 cup all-natural Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter from Peanut Butter & Co. (I actually used a mixture of this and organic peanut butter, because we didn’t have enough of the chocolate peanut butter. Depending on how chocolatey you want your bread, you can use all chocolate pb, just pb, or a mix of the two.)
  • 3 Tablespoons and 1 teaspoon sunflower seed oil, divided
  • 3 Tablespoons hormone-free butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup organic packed brown sugar
  • 2 medium bananas, sliced
  • 2 large eggs (vegetarian fed, hormone-free, antibiotic-free)
  • 1 1/2 cups organic unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2/3 cup organic plain yogurt
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup all-natural semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together chocolate peanut butter and 1 teaspoon sunflower seed oil. Heat until melted (in microwave, convection oven, or stove top).
  3. In a large bowl, combine 3 Tablespoons oil, butter, brown sugar and banana slices. Beat with an electric mixer until combined. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each one is added, until incorporated.
  4. In another bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  5. With electric mixer, alternate mixing your flour mixture and yogurt into the banana mixture, starting and finishing with the flour mixture. Mix until combined.
  6. In a greased 9×5 inch bread pan, pour half of your batter. Pour peanut butter mixture over and gently spread evenly. Spread the rest of your batter over the top of your peanut butter mixture. Gently swirl batter with a knife. Sprinkle chocolate chips over the top.
  7. Bake for 55 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

ImageImageImageImage

I adapted this recipe from kitchenmeetsgirl.com.

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

