Chocolate Banana Bread

Image

 

Yesterday I got in a baking mood. (Probably because I was having a slight chocolate craving.) I had just ran across this recipe for chocolate banana bread, so I thought I’d give it a try, using organic and all-natural ingredients, of course. I’m so glad I did…this stuff is amazing! 

Before I go on, let me explain that this recipe uses quite a bit of sugar, and though I used organic, sugar is sugar. Organic sugar is better than the white stuff, which has been refined fourteen times, (talk about processed!) and definitely way better than artificial sweeteners (don’t even get me started). But, sugar is something you should eat in moderation, so just keep that in mind. 

Here’s what you need if you wanna give it a try yourself. (you should, trust me):

  • 1 3/4 cups of organic unbleached flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened all-natural cocoa powder
  • 1 cup organic sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (I used kosher)
  • 2 large eggs (vegetarian fed, antibiotic and hormone free) 
  • 1 stick butter, melted and cooled (all-natural or organic, rBGH and rBST free)
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon all-natural vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I highly recommend “Enjoy Life!” brand mini chips, but at least make sure they are all-natural.) 

Image

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, mix flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In another bowl, stir together mashed bananas, eggs, melted butter, and vanilla.
  4. Gently fold banana mixture into dry ingredients until just incorporated, then mix in chocolate chips.
  5. Grease a loaf pan, then pour in your mixture, smoothing it out evenly once its poured. Bake for 1 hour until bread is risen and toothpick inserted in the center of your loaf comes out clean. 
  6. Enjoy! 🙂 

Image

 

I grabbed a tiny sliver of this right after it came out of the oven, steam still rising from my slice, and let me tell you, it was incredible. It’s also great at room temperature, though, whatever you prefer. Hope you love it! (I’m pretty sure you will.) 🙂 

I found this recipe at http://www.moneysavingmom.com.

Leave a Reply

