Lemon Butter Salmon with Caribbean Quinoa and Asparagus and Red Bell Peppers

Image

Tonight for dinner, Josh and I ate lemon butter salmon, Caribbean quinoa, and asparagus and red bell peppers. Super scrumptious and simple! Simple is always a good thing!

I’ll start with the lemon butter salmon. For this you will need:

  • Tin foil
  • Lemon
  • Butter
  • Salmon
  • Salt
  • Pepper

I’m a huge fan of measuring everything exactly when I cook, but with this you can wing it.

Image

Image

I got my salmon from Earth Fare. The package states, “No preservatives, no antibiotics, no added chemicals, no hormones, just 100% premium grade seafood and nothing else!”

Put your salmon on a baking sheet (wrapped in tin foil) and cook it in the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes. That’s all you have to do with the salmon!

Next I got my quinoa going because I cooked the quinoa and the salmon both for 25 minutes. It made it easier to have them set to be ready at the same time so I could focus on chopping the asparagus and red bell peppers and getting them on the stove.

Image

I adapted this recipe from the back of the sun-dried tomatoes bag. I used:

  • 3 cups organic chicken broth, divided
  • 1 Tbsp organic EVOO
  • 1 cup organic quinoa
  • 3 dried tomato halves, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

Method:

Bring 2 cups of broth to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add quinoa, oil, dried tomatoes, and lemon zest. Cover and cook on medium-high for 25 minutes. Keep checking and stirring it, adding the other cup of chicken broth as the quinoa soaks in the broth that’s already in the pot, and adjusting the heat as needed. Taste test it at about 23 minutes.

Now I need to apologize for the ingredients in the next picture not all being used in cooking my asparagus and red bell peppers. My original idea for this dinner was to make lemon-garlic shrimp and vegetables, but when I got to Earth Fare, shrimp was way more than I wanted to pay, and salmon was reasonably priced, so I tweaked it in the middle of my grocery run. I didn’t realize until I was half way through my vegetable recipe that the garlic, EVOO, and  broth were for the shrimp. If you want to try out the shrimp and veggies recipe, you can find the link at the bottom of this post. I’ve gotten a free pound of shrimp from Earth Fare before because of their e-mail coupons, so I might have to try it out if they send that out again soon!

Image

Anyway, if you are just making the vegetables you will need:

  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 2 large red bell peppers, diced
  • 2 pounds asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch lengths
  • 2 tsp grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • sprinkle of parsley

Method:

Heat 2 tsp EVOO in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add diced bell peppers, asparagus pieces, lemon zest, and salt, and cook, stirring occasionally, about 6 minutes.

Image

I got most of my ingredients at Earth Fare. Don’t forget to get all-natural and organic ingredients. Even with your vegetables, it would be better to get them at a health food store to cut down on pesticides.

Enjoy!

Recipe Sources:

Leave a Reply

