Paleo Coconut Bread

Image

I’m sure a lot of you have heard of the paleo diet, but I thought I’d start out with a list of what you are allowed to eat on it, before I give you a recipe with the word “paleo” in it:

  • Grass-fed Meat
  • Fowl
  • Wild Fish
  • Eggs
  • Vegetables
  • Fruits
  • Nuts
  • Natural Oils

So basically, no dairy, grains, or sweets.

Let me make it clear that I am not promoting any particular “diet/s”. However, paleo is a very healthy way to go, and is way less of a “fad diet” then some of the others I have heard about/tried in the past. If I were to have to pick a “diet”, paleo would probably be my favorite.

Anyway…this is a healthy recipe that I made last week.

Paleo Coconut Bread

First of all, here’s your ingredients list:

  •  6 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or the seeds of one vanilla bean
  • 3 Tbsp of honey
  • 3 cups of desiccated coconut (unsweetened)
  • 1 tsp of baking powder or baking soda
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil (for oiling the pan)

Preheat the oven to 285 degrees Fahrenheit. Beat the eggs, vanilla, and honey together with an electric mixer. Put the coconut flakes in your food processor and grind until they look like flour (1 minute max). If you don’t have a food processor, the source the I got his from said the recipe works just as well without grinding your coconut flakes. Mix together the coconut flakes (ground or not) and the baking soda (or powder) and add to the egg mixture. Oil your pan with coconut oil (if nonstick) or line it with parchment paper (it it’s not a nonstick pan). Bake your bread for about 40 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean). My oven took about 50 minutes.

It’s very simple and very delicious! I ate some slices plain, but mostly I put my homemade vegan/paleo spread on it. I’ll share that recipe in the next post! 🙂 (I’m sure honey would be good on it too!)

Image

I found this recipe on http://paleoliscious.blogspot.com.

One thought on “Paleo Coconut Bread

Leave a Reply

