Banana Oat Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

So I made these delicious cookies today and just had to share the recipe. You will have to try them…they are awesome! I love that the only source of sugar is found in the chocolate chips, otherwise the sweetness is just from the bananas!

Here’s what you need:

  • 3 large, ripe bananas, well mashed (about 1/2 cups)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, barely warm-so it’s not solid
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup almond meal
  • 1/3 cup coconut, shredded and unsweetened
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 6-7 ounces chocolate chips (milk or dark)

Image(Don’t you just love my cute little coffee pictures?)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl combine bananas, vanilla extract, and coconut oil. Set aside. In another bowl whisk together the oats, almond meal, shredded coconut, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Image

Image

Image

Your dough won’t have the same consistency as other cookie dough, but I thought that made it easier to handle. It didn’t stick to my hands as much. I used a tablespoon measurement to form my dough balls. Drop them onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake for 12-14 minutes. I was able to get 45 tablespoon-sized cookies from this amount of dough. My first batch I spaced them like I do other cookies, but then I realized that they don’t spread like cookies made with flour, so you can put them pretty close together if you want to bake more all at once.

Image

Image

Make sure you look for all-natural and organic ingredients. Most of my ingredients were from Trader Joe’s. I like Trader Joe’s because all of their products are free of artificial flavors, colors, preservatives, GMOs, MSG, and added trans fats, not to mention their prices are pretty good, too! However, I have learned that no matter where you shop, even if they claim to be a “health food” store, always read ingredients! It’s a good rule to try to stick with five or less things in the ingredients list. I’ll try to post more about what to look for and what to avoid in ingredients lists elsewhere though.

In the meantime, try out this recipe! Pretty sure you are going to love these!

Image

I got this recipe from http://katinthekitch.wordpress.com

One thought on “Banana Oat Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Leave a Reply

