My First Post: A Little Background

I began this journey into the world of healthy food a few years ago when I read French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano. I was a recent college graduate who wasn’t happy with her body and had tried so many diets I’d lost count. Calorie counting, starving myself, Weight Watchers, etcetera: they all worked for awhile, but then I’d blow it and decide to have an “eat everything in sight because you’ll get back on it tomorrow” day. Those days happened way too often, hence the yo-yoing that kept occurring for me. It seemed that everyday was a battle: Megan vs. Food. I thought this was just how it was going to be forever, because I was a woman.

Then I found Mireille Guiliano’s book, and the subtitle intrigued me. French Women Don’t Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure. I had always associated eating foods that brought me pleasure with guilt, so this had my attention. I decided to read it, and every page had me riveted. It was about a lifestyle change, not a quick-fix fad diet. She talked about eating with all five senses, savoring every bite. She described the difference in our American always-on-the-go society, and the French way of making every meal an event, sitting to enjoy food and life. It wasn’t about depriving me of the foods that I loved to eat, but teaching myself to be satisfied with a few bites of quality food, rather than a bigger quantity that I devoured without paying much attention.

I finished the book, and before I knew it, I’d lost 30 pounds. For the first time, I was happy with my body, with how I looked and how I felt. There was no more calorie counting, guilt, or shame after every bite I took. I now ate what I enjoyed, but I was finding that my taste was changing slowly overtime. Whereas I used to wake up craving a Venti Starbucks Mocha, as my lifestyle changed a little every day, I would wake up wanting a piece of fruit instead. And when I did have a Starbucks craving, I could go and be satisfied with a short. And this was just the beginning, but I’ll save that for another post.

French-Women-Dont-Get-Fat-Book

(Please visit: www.frenchwomendontgetfat.com)

5 thoughts on “My First Post: A Little Background

  1. Megan, I’m so excited about your doing this blog. I’ve gone through similar struggles, and I really want to pick this book up to read now!

    1. Liza,
      So glad to hear from you! You definitely should grab a copy! It really does change the way you look at food. 🙂 Hopefully I can continue to help with more posts. When you get to a time in your life when you truly feel good about how you look and feel, it’s hard not to want to share what you know with others!

      Love,
      Megan

  2. I haven’t read that book…yet! 🙂 I also want to read “French Kids Eat Everything”, about teaching your kids how to enjoy all kinds of food.
    LOVE the blog. Can’t wait for the next post!
    Love you!
    Lora

    1. Mrs. Lora,

      I’ve been thinking about reading “French Kids Eat Everything” too! I’ve worked with some pretty picky eaters so I’m sure it’d be helpful!

      Love you too!
      Megan

Leave a Reply

